A key to solutions for non-profits, missions, and more

I tend to take on projects that have a lot of “potential.” I see something as it is today, and my mind races to visions of what it could be. Believing in that possibility, I move ahead. Initial progress is made, it convinces me that I’m moving in the right direction and I keep going, brimming with excitement. Then a setback comes.

Have you ever begun something that was really important to you and not hit some sort of roadblock or plateau? It is the moment that tests our belief in what we are doing. For me, it is often the time that the voices of others who thought I was crazy to take on the project in the first place are the loudest in my mind. What if they are right? What if I am nuts? It is the moment that tests resolve. If I am fortunate, the moment is a short one.

Is this thing I set out to do important enough that I’m willing to square off with the roadblock or take the necessary detours to get there? Fact: there is a roadblock. Fact: it is frustrating. Fact: I’d really like to take a hike in the woods and forget the whole thing for a while. Fact: there is still a small voice inside me reminding me that I really believe in what I set out to do.

I’ve been following the Twitter posts of non-profit organizations preparing a national conference to discuss the future in a changed economy. When I read Non Profit Quarterly’s website, I see a lot of that thought process too, plenty of concerns, frustrations and fortunately, positive plans to adapt to a climate that some call the “new normal.” Planning and adapting are essential to continuation of our missions. Yes, discuss the issues, yes, have a national conference to brainstorm about the future. And while we’re at it, consider this: Do we still believe in our mission? Do we still really believe it can be done?

David Joseph Schwartz said, “Believe it can be done. When you believe something can be done, really believe, your mind will find ways to do it. Believing a  solution paves the way to solution.”

Believing seems to work well for heroes in the stories that inspire us. The happy ending usually, eventually, comes. I have yet to run across a hero or heroine who wasn’t planning, thinking and working awfully hard too. In stories, fictional and real-life, the hero listened to that sometimes small voice that believes in the mission, and more often than not, things worked out pretty well after all.

Do you believe?

My name is CJ. I write for CatchBlue.

Make a Difference: Think about someone in your everyday life who inspires you with the work they do.  Send an email or make a call to share a compliment or encouraging word with that person.

Looking for new ways to reach your organization’s goals? Please visit the CatchBlue website to learn more about exciting ways for connecting donors, businesses and non-profit projects.

One Response to “A key to solutions for non-profits, missions, and more”

  1. Martha Says:

    CJ-

    You inspire me with the writing you do. It is so thought-ful and thought-provoking. Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

